The Journey Begins

Welcome!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I want to start this first blog post off by saying that I truly have no idea where this blog is going to go. All I know is that my concrete plans for this blog include the outdoors (more specifically: backpacking and hiking), my day-to-day life, and my love for Jesus. It might not sound like all of those things would make a great blog–and you could be right! However, I like the idea of having a public outlet to discuss things that are going on in my life, both good and bad. So that is exactly what I plan to do.

So now that I’ve somewhat started off this blog, let me first start by introducing myself. My name is Katie and I am 22 years old. I am currently a senior nursing student with less than ONE YEAR LEFT (**insert tears of joy**). I started this program in May of 2017, and when I say that this has been the hardest year of my life academically, I mean it has been the hardest year I could have ever imagined–but by the grace of God, I am making it through unscathed and can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel.

42874315_10218256179902927_6462749195664097280_n

My mom and I this past weekend (September 30, 2018)

When I am not drowning in nursing school woes, I tend to gravitate towards the outdoors. Some of my greatest memories have been hiking in Juneau, AK, Munising, MI, Jacksonhole, WY, Townsend, TN, the Adirondacks in NY and even around Ohio! My number one bucket list goal is to thru-hike (which refers to hiking a long distance trail from one end to the other in one hiking season) the entire Pacific Crest Trail (PCT). For those that don’t know what the PCT is, it is a hiking trail that spans 2,650 miles between Mexico and Canada and goes through California, Oregon, and Washington. I have an interest in hiking the Appalachian Trail (AT) too, which is another long distance trail spanning 2,200 miles from Georgia to Maine. However, I will likely do that as a section hike, rather than a thru hike. Living in Ohio, I have much easier access to the AT than I do the PCT, so that is why I have made the ultimate decision to thru-hike the PCT if I ever have to decide between the two. In a perfect world though, I will thru-hike both!

36413099_10217492617894354_4524645508286775296_o

Hiking in Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, Summer 2018

Now to the nitty-gritty stuff! My relationship with Christ has been anything but smooth. I spent most of my teenage years resenting the fact that I am a christian because that meant that I didn’t get to do a lot of the same things that my friends got to do. That might sound like a pretty dumb reason to resent my faith, but one of my biggest struggles in life has been trying to live in this world and not of it. Luckily, these thoughts changed after I graduated high school and started attending a local church. I was actively involved in this church and was even baptized there, but after moving to Ohio State’s campus almost a year later, I lost touch with the church, as well as my faith. However, despite my lack of faith, I still always felt at least a little bit convicted in my sin. It wasn’t until a little over a month ago that I really started digging in to scripture and truly began to feel convicted. I got involved at a new church, began attending a bible study, and dove completely head first getting myself involved and meeting new people at this church, as well as reconnecting with old friends that are fellow-believers. I truly believe that this is exactly the life the God wants for me and honoring Him has made me incredibly happy and I can’t wait to see where this “new” life takes me.

11083941_10206669099833167_8417277875418123645_n

My baptism in March of 2015

I’m excited to share my life experiences with everyone and teach people about not only the outdoors, but also the fulfillment that comes with living a life for Christ! I plan to post at least every Wednesday of each week, but will likely post more often as life events happen. I wish everyone a wonderful week in the mean time, and I am already looking forward to sharing my next post with you all! Thanks for reading 🙂

-Katie

Deuteronomy 7:9 “Therefore know that the LORD your God, He is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and mercy for a thousand generations with those who love Him and keep His commandments”

Leave a comment